This article explains how to manage the various components of your organization in Backstage.
This will include managing your organization, its team members, the app users, the organization default workspace settings, as well as your own personal information as a Backstage user.
Managing your organization
In the Backstage home page, selecting Organizations in the menu to the left of the screen will list the organizations that you belong to, in the My memberships section, as well as the organization owner.
Selecting an organization in the list will display its corresponding information, by opening the Manage organization tab:
Here you will find information on the selected organization's name and account ID, in the Details section.
In the menu to the left you can also access information regarding its members, users, workspaces, and related legal documents.
Managing organization team members
Organization administrators can manage the Backstage organization members, by clicking on Members in the side panel.
This will display the full list of the organization members in Backstage, where members roles can be managed. Users can for example be:
- Promoted to administrators by clicking Promote.
- Demoted (if they are already administrators) by clicking on Demote.
- Removed from the organization in Backstage, by clicking on Remove.
If you are an organization administrator, you can also add new members to your organization by selecting the organization, then clicking on Members, and then selecting Add a member at the bottom of the screen:
Simply add the organization member's email address, and then select the role they will have in Backstage. More information on roles is available in the Backstage user roles article.
Managing organization users
In the Manage organization tab for your organization, you can click on Users and then use the search bar to enter the email address of any app user you wish to find.
This will list all the workspaces that this user has access to, and when expanded will include a link to the user profile, the user activation date/time and the devices used for app activation.
As an organization administrator, you can cancel or remove users from accessing one or multiple workspaces via the app. Once a user is cancelled or removed from a workspace, they will no longer have access to the workspace via the app.
For more information on removing an app user, pleaser refer to the Canceling users article.
Managing your organization's default workspace settings
Each organization has its own set of workspace settings that are by default applied to all their created workspaces. These settings can be edited by the organizations to specifically answer their needs.
The default settings are particularly useful when creating workspaces, as they will be used by Backstage to pre-fill all the workspace details fields needed to create a workspace for an organization.
These default settings include:
- Workspace timezone
- Data location (or data residency)
- Privacy policies.
- Show cookies banner (web app)
- Container app
- Event passwords
- Allow "Access web app as"
The event passwords setting here needs to be enabled for your organization in order to use activation codes in your workspaces.
Event passwords can be enabled:
- At the organization level by any organization admin. through the default workspace settings.
- On a workspace by an organization admin., only if if this is enabled in the organization default workspace settings.
Event passwords can be disabled:
- On a workspace by any organization admin.
Event passwords can be enabled or disabled in a workspace during a live event, regardless of the start/end date.
Managing your Backstage profile
The Backstage home page contains a link to your user profile information, where Backstage users can access and modify their user name and phone number.
Click on the bubble containing your initials in the bottom left corner to display the information and make any necessary changes to your user information.